• Julie

The Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra or, Anahata, is the centre of our energy system. Physically, it governs our heart and lungs and works physically and emotionally to keep the life force alive. The Heart Chakra thrives on camaraderie, joy, peace and understanding.

Location: The Heart Chakra is located at your heart centre and it opens outward.

Associated Body Parts: This chakra is associated with your Thymus gland, heart, upper back, rib cage, chest, lungs, bronchia, arms, hands, respiratory system, hypertension and muscles.

Essential Oils: Geranium, Bergamot, Rose and Clary Sage

Colour: Green; Gemstones: Emerald, green jade, rose quartz, kunzite, peridot, diamond

Symbol: 12-Petaled Lotus; Element: Air

Mantra: YAM; Tone: F; Type of Music: Choral

Associated Zodiac and Planets: Leo, Libra, Taurus; Venus, the Sun, Saturn

The Heart Chakra operates through our physical, emotional and energetic planes and is essential to our supply of energy and the love we need to feed our spirit. When we are children, our Heart Chakras are partially open, but tend to close down as we grow older. We become a product of our societies and if we grew up with a lack of love in our lives, it becomes harder to re-open this chakra when we’re older. The Heart Chakra looks to expand and open when we reach early adulthood and it searches for ways to do so. Our relationships, children born and choices that we make during this time help our Heart Chakra open.

The Heart Chakra is full of love and life, it thrives on joy and delight, it needs openness, sharing and connection. It tells us to always remember the good. It will close from pain, loss and trauma and suffers when there is separation and isolation. We must learn to accept the oneness of all life and we must learn to love ourselves.

Our Heart Chakra will never forget an act of kindness or love. Experiencing love, kindness and acceptance is how we navigate this life. If we do not get these things from an external source (parents, family, siblings, partners), we will eventually have to learn to provide it for ourselves. If our minds dwell on negativity, we deprive ourselves. The Heart Chakra is very receptive, though, and will always try to allow love in.

When our Heart Chakra is in harmony, it gives the feeling of wholeness and provides tolerance and acceptance of life and our relationships. When this chakra is out of harmony the love we give is not sincere, we look to be rewarded and we can not accept the love given by others.

Physical problems related to the Heart Chakra include arteriosclerosis, angina, myocardial infarction, heart arrhythmia, stenosis of the heart and lungs, pneumonia, chronic bronchitis and tuberculosis.

So, how do you work with your Heart Chakra? Spend some time in silence, in nature and/or with positive people! Reading uplifting books and ensuring there is ample laughter and play in your life will also help open the Heart Chakra. Yoga, massage, healing touch or Reiki, walking and dancing are all excellent activities that will help us cultivate self-love as well. We must always remember to see the good and forgive the past and release suppressed feelings. Remember to always live in the present!

Wearing pink or green and focusing on this chakra, imagining a light-filled wheel that is spinning slightly faster than your Solar Plexus Chakra will help you balance this chakra. Making use of gemstones or essential oils as mentioned in the Root Chakra post will also help. Choose the appropriate gemstones or essential oils from the list above to help you focus on the Heart Chakra instead.

Mantras that are good for your Heart Chakra would be something like: “Love opens and heals me” or “I look for the joy in myself and see it in all things.”

And of course, Reiki treatments will work on balancing all of your chakras.

Up next will be the Throat Chakra, which focuses on expressing our truth.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All