• Julie

What are Chakras?

Easily one of the most common questions I get. In this post, I will give you some basic knowledge on chakras and will follow up with subsequent posts going into more detail on each of the seven main chakras. I hope you enjoy this series.

The word chakra is sanskrit for wheel and it refers to the energy centres in our bodies. There are seven main energy centres, or chakras, that regulate the flow of energy through our Etheric body, which is the layer of energy closest to our Physical body. The Etheric body is the densest layer of the various subtle energy bodies that make up our auras. It energizes our Physical body and connects us to the earth’s energy.

Chakras are cone or funnel shaped and penetrate through all layers of your aura. The Root Chakra, at the base of your spine, opens downward, the next five (Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat and Third Eye), open outward and the Crown Chakra, at the crown of your head, opens upward. The Root Chakra draws energy up from the earth, circulates it through the Physical body and releases it through the crown. The Crown Chakra draws energy from above, circulating it down through the root and back into the earth.

Many people, myself included, believe that the chakras are the key to your physical, emotional and spiritual health. As they draw energy, they spin at various speeds, the slowest being the root and the fastest being the crown. The moving energy stimulates the endocrine organs in our bodies causing them to release their hormones into our blood stream. If you look at the diagram in

the link I provided, you will notice that each organ is in roughly the same location as a chakra (image at the beginning of article). The endocrine system and its hormones control our bodies and can also affect our state of mind and emotions.

When our chakras are balanced and spinning as they should, our lives will be content and happy, when they are sluggish or overactive, there will be aspects of our lives that are not working. This can manifest as physical illness, relationship problems, money problems, anger issues or other emotional issues, clumsiness, tiredness/overactivity, etc. Of course, if you do suspect you have a serious physical or mental illness, I highly recommend seeing a medical practitioner, but you can work on healing your chakras in combination with all other medical practices.

Healing our chakras can be done in many ways like, Reiki or other energy work, colour therapy, aromatherapy, mantras, music and specific physical activities, to name a few. As we begin to work with, and heal our chakras, we learn more about who we are. This will allow us to see our own unique talents, allowing us to live fuller, happier lives.

Each of the next seven posts will focus on one of the chakras and will discuss how to notice imbalances (sluggishness or overactivity) and what you can do to help correct and heal these imbalances. The first one we will focus on is the Root Chakra which is located at the base of your spine and relates to us being grounded and feeling secure and anchored in our lives and bodies.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All